Homelessness Task Force

The Cabarrus County Homelessness Task Force (CCHTF) is a coalition of local shelter and housing agencies, homeless service providers, school system and government representatives and community stakeholders, to improve awareness and increase our community’s capacity to serve homeless individuals and households in housing crisis.  The CCHTF was established in 2012.

The primary goals of the CCHTF outlined in 2017;

  1. Improve awareness of homelessness and housing crisis in the community using various forms of communication including the Cabarrus County Homeless Indicators Dashboard.
  1. Establish an organizational structure and common objectives for the task force members to facilitate collaboration and improve outcomes.
  1. Develop and implement action plans that will strengthen our community’s ability to respond and increase our capacity to address homeless populations and housing needs.

The Cabarrus County Homelessness Task Force meets quarterly on the second Wednesday of the second month of the quarter.

The 2023 meeting schedule is as follows:

February 8, 2023

May 10, 2023

August 9, 2023

November 8, 2023

For more information or to join the Cabarrus County Homelessness Task Force (CCHTF) email:  ehosack@cooperativeministry.com

The Cabarrus County Homeless Indicators Dashboard is published quarterly by the CCHTF.  The Homeless Indicators Dashboard provides insight into trends in homeless services requests during each quarter.

The annual Cabarrus County Homeless Point-In-Time Count is coordinated each January as part of a nationwide initiative to identify homeless individuals on a given night during the winter when the homeless will be more likely to access shelters.

Persons are counted as individuals or in families and are identified as either “unsheltered” or “sheltered”.  Volunteers seek to discover the reasons for homelessness and specific unmet needs.

The Cabarrus County Point-In-Time Count is supervised by the North Carolina Coalition to End Homelessness (NCCEH).

Ed Hosack, Executive Director of Cooperative Christian Ministry (CCM) currently serves as the facilitator of the Cabarrus County Homelessness Task Force (CCHTF).

Agencies represented on the Cabarrus County Homelessness Task Force:

AYA House
Cabarrus County Schools
Cabarrus Health Alliance
Child Protection Team
Church of God Children’s Home
City of Concord Housing
City of Kannapolis
Community Link
Concord Housing Dept.
Concord Public Library
Elder Orphan Care
Esther House of Stanley Co.
Faith Community Nurse
Habitat for Humanity
Healthy Cabarrus
Hope Haven / Serenity House
Kannapolis City Schools
Multiply Church
NCWorks Career Center
Nextgen/NC Works
Operation Homeless, Inc.
Opportunity House
Prosperity Unlimited
Quality Comprehensive Health Center
Salisbury Rowan CAA
Serenity House
St. James Lutheran
Teen Challenge of Kannapolis
The Salvation Army
Veteran’s Administration